MARAN To Hold Reception And Lecture In Honour Of Former President

The Maritime Reporters Association of Nigeria (MARAN) is set to host a grand reception and lecture in honour of its former President and bonafide member, Mr Leye Ajayi who recently emerged as the Chairman of Lagos Council of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ)

In a statement issued in Lagos on Monday by the Secretary General of MARAN,  Mr. Dapo Olawuni, the creme-de-la-creme of the Nigerian maritime sector are billed to attend the event under the Chairmanship of Prince Olayiwola Shittu, former President of Association of Nigerian Licensed Customs Agents (ANLCA)

The event is billed to hold at the Rockview Hotel in Apapa, Lagos on Thursday March, 25th 2021 by 11am prompt.

The theme of the  event is ”National  Development: The Challenges of and the Prospects for the Proper Implementation of the Freedom of Information (FOI) Act in Nigerian Maritime Industry ”

Mr Olawuni quoted the President of MARAN, Mr Anya Njoku as saying that “MARAN is proud of one of its own, Leye Ajayi who was a bonafide member of the association until his emergence as the Lagos NUJ Chairman”

“Mr Ajayi had served MARAN meritoriously at different times and different capacities as Secretary General and later as President. The Association is therefore planning a grand reception to celebrate his electoral success”

The MARAN Scribe also stated that the grand reception and lecture aims to boost the synergy between the Maritime Press and Maritime Publics and Government Parastatals.

The lead paper would be presented by seasoned Journalist and the Editor of the XPRESS Newspaper, Mr Emeka Okoroanyawu, who was one of the founders of MARAN in 1988.

Former General Manager, Lagos Traffic FM, Mr. Layinka Adagun, a pioneer MARAN Member, would also be a panel discussant to enhance the theme’s perspectives.

The special guests of honor expected at the event includes; the Managing Director of Nigerian Ports Authority (NPA) Ms Hadiza Bala Usman, the Director General of Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency (NIMASA) Executive Secretary of Nigerian Shippers Council, Barr Hassan Bello, and Managing Director, National Inland Waterways Authority (NIWA) Dr George Moghalu.

Others are; Assistant Comptroller General of Customs in charge of Zone ‘A’ Lagos, ACG Kaycee Ekekezie and the Lagos State Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Mr Gbenga Omotosho.

The Chief Guests of Honors are; Chairperson of Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria (STOAN) Princess Dr Vicki Haastrup, the President General of Maritime Workers Union of Nigeria (MWUN) Comrade Adewale Adeyanju and immediate past chairman of Council for the Regulation of Freight Forwarding in Nigeria (CRFFN) Aare Hakeem Olanrewaju.

Others are; President of ANLCA,  Hon Tony Iju Nwabunike and the founder of National Association of Government Approved Freight Forwarders (NAGAFF) Dr. Boniface Aniebonam.

In addition, all MARAN past presidents and executives would be on ground to grace the grand reception and lecture.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button