Joint Tax Board Honours LIRS, Executive Chairman

Photo Caption

L-R: Coordinating Director, Executive Chairman’s Group, Federal Inland Revenue Service (FIRS), Mr Muhammed Lawal Abubakar; Executive Chairman, Lagos Internal Revenue Service (LIRS), Mr Ayodele Subair; Executive Chairman, FIRS, and Chairman, Joint Tax Board (JTB) Muhammad Mamman Nami; and Secretary, JTB, Nana-Aishat Obomeghie, during the presentation of Award of Recognition to Subair at a Gala Night to mark the end of the 149th JTB Meeting in Lagos…recently

The Joint Tax Board (JTB), at its 149th meeting, honoured Lagos Internal Revenue Service and its Executive Chairman, Mr Ayodele Subair, for contributing towards the actualization of the JTB’s vision.

Subair received the Award of Recognition at a gala night held at the Civic Centre, Victoria Island, Lagos, to mark the end of the two-day meeting hosted by the Lagos State Government and LIRS.

The 149th JTB meeting, held on Monday, December 13, and Tuesday, December 14, 2021, at Eko Hotels & Suites, Victoria Island, Lagos, was part of the Board’s mandate to meet quarterly to appraise performance and deliberate on tax issues of national importance at various levels of government.

In his acceptance speech, Subair thanked the State Governor, Mr Babajide Sanwo-Olu, for his vision that pushes Lagos to work and his support for the LIRS. He also thanked the LIRS staff, partners, and taxpayers in Lagos and asked them to pay their taxes voluntarily to avoid penalties.

Subair, who described the recognition as an opportunity to do more, said: “All tax authorities are making efforts to improve on the ease of doing business and simplification of tax administrative processes which will in turn significantly advance on the tax compliance levels within the country.”

The JTB, established by section 86 (1) of the Personal Income Tax Act Cap. P8 LFN 2004 has all the executive chairmen of states internal revenue services as members. Its other members include the Federal Road Safety Commission, Revenue Mobilization, Allocation & Fiscal Commission, Federal Ministry of Finance, The Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria, Nigeria Customs Service, Nigeria Immigration Service and Nigeria Governors’ Forum, among others.

The JTB advises all tiers of government on tax matters to evolve an efficient tax administration system in the country; resolves areas of conflict on tax jurisdiction among member states; promotes uniformity in the application of tax laws and in the incidence of tax on individuals throughout the country; and decides on matters of procedure and interpretation on income tax matters on member states.

Also honoured at the gala night were the Executive Chairman, Enugu State Board of Internal Revenue, Prince Emeka Anthony Odo; Executive Chairman, Plateau State Internal Revenue Service, Pastor Dashe Arlat Dasogot; Executive Chairman, Delta State Internal Revenue Service, Sir Monday John Onyeme; and Executive Chairman, Bayelsa State Internal Revenue Service, Dr Nimibofa Ayawei, for long service at the JTB.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button